Organization Network Connections & Roles


Organization Network Connections & Roles

Organizations have the ability to receive requests from other Plants Map users to ‘Connect’ with their organization. It is at the sole discretion of the Organization Owner and Admins to set their own criteria for accepting Connections and assigning roles.

The roles of an Organization’s Network are: Owner, Admins, and Connections. Details of each role are described below. The Network Overview page (screenshot above) allows the owner or admins to activate or delete a connection request and to assign or change a connections role.

 


Manage Network > Network Overview Page

Manage Network

  • To access your organization’s Network Overview use the Manage Network  link at the top left of your organization page.
  • You will only see the Edit or Manage Network links when you have used the profile menu to change to acting as your organization.
  • The owner, admins and connections will be seen in the organization’s network section.
  • The organization’s map can also display your network connections, as long as the profiles have provided a pin location.

ROLES: Owner, Admins, Connections

Owner – Creator of the Organization

  • The owner can only be an individual profile.
  • The owner is indicated with an icon of a briefcase on their profile thumbnail within the network section  and map.
  • Only the owner has the ability to send a ‘delete organization’ request to Plants Map support.
  • Only the owner receives Network Connection requests via email.
  • The owner can approve connections and assign roles.
  • The owner can act as the organization profile and like content, follow other profiles, and post comments as the organization.
  • The owner  has all permissions to add, edit and delete all content.
  • Organization updates will show on your Home page feed.
  • Changes to the ownership of an organization can only be done via an email request to support@plantsmap.com.

Admins – Approved connections to act as the organization

  • To initiate, an individual profile clicks the ‘Connect’ button on the organization profile page to send a request to be approved by the owner or another admin.
  • Admins can only be Individual Profiles.
  • An admin is indicated by the cogwheel icon on their profile thumbnail  in the network section and map.
  • An admin has the same permissions as the owner to add, edit and delete all content.
  • An admin can act as the organization and like content, follow other profiles, make comments on posts, etc.
  • An admin has access to Manage Network to approve members and assign roles.
  • Organization updates will show on your Home page feed.

Connection – Approved connections with no permissions

  • Connections are indicated by a person icon on their profile thumbnail in the network section .
  • Connections can be either an Individual Profile or an Organization Profile
  • An owner or an admin approves the request to connect to the Organization’s Network and assigns a role as a connection.
  • Connections do not have the permissions to add, edit or delete any content.
  • Connections do not have the permissions to act as the organization.
  • Organization updates will show on their Home page feed.

Note: If at any time an individual profile or an organization profile wishes to leave an organization’s network they connected with, simply return to that profile page and choose “Leave Network” to remove yourself.


An organization’s network connections and role icons:

The screenshot below is the Network section of the Cossey Park organization profile.

  • Owner = briefcase icon (can only be 1 & must be an individual profile)
  • Admin(s) = cogwheel icon (can only be multiple & must be individual profiles)
  • Connections = person icon (can be individual or organization profiles; no permissions)

Connection Rolese


An organization’s map view of connections

Screenshot is the Virginia Master Naturalist organization profile showing a map of their chapter profiles that have connected.

Network map

 


How to Leave a Network Connection – If at any time an individual profile or an organization profile wishes to leave an organization’s network they connected with, simply return to that profile page and choose “Leave Network” to remove yourself.

 


Watch our video on Follow, Connect and Network Connections on Plants Map